Who Won the 2nd Annual Women of Faith Writing Contest?

Last year more than 650 aspiring authors entered the 2011 Women of Faith Writing Contest, which was open to any author with an unpublished manuscript. And the winners are . . .

Grand Prize Winner: Comfort and Salvation by Amy Sorrells
This compelling novel told through the eyes of a 13-year-old girl captured the judges’ hearts. “I was reading Comfort and Salvation in the airport and had to stop because I was crying so hard,” one told us. “And I loved that it didn’t preach at you…the spiritual aspect was woven in so well through example and story.”

“Two years ago I attended the Indianapolis conference but I couldn’t bring myself to enter the writing contest,” said the author. “Both my mother and a friend of mine encouraged me to enter ‘Comfort and Salvation’ in this year’s contest. I’m so glad I took their advice, and am so honored to have won.”

1st Place Winner: A Time for Miracles by Kathleen Brown
A resource wrapped in a story, A Time for Miracles details the author’s first-hand experiences caring for her mother, who suffered from Alzheimer’s. One judge wrote, “Anyone who is watching a loved one’s mind slip away would find this book to be an excellent companion to turn to for comfort and advice.”

2nd Place Winner: The Eyes of the Heart by Embessie Susberry
A novel set in the thick of the Civil Rights movement, The Eyes of the Heart tells a story of love that is truly colorblind. Judges noted its “compelling plot, engaging characters, and ear for dialogue combine to make this book a page-turner.”

Congratulations to Amy, Kathleen, and Embessie! To learn more about the Women of Faith Writing Contest and WestBow Press, click here.


  1. I have had two books published. does that disqualify me for any contests in the future, and how do I find out about them? I didn’t know you offered writing contests.

    My books are available online, but I am definitely not famous. Still haven’t got one in any bookstores. That day will come. I would still describe myself as an aspiring author.

  2. 2 years ago
    Debra C says

    WOF…Love you guys so much! Thanks for what you have done for all women and especially the three new novelist. May God continue to inspire them.

  3. 2 years ago
    Abbie Renaud says

    I’d love to read a few of these too. Will the novels be published? I purchased Smitten from this website and well….I wasn’t disappointed. Give it a read if you haven’t. Remembering young love is always an inspiration…and a motivation to do the little things for the one you love however long you’ve been married.

  4. Congratulations to the winners! Their books-to-be sound touching and inspirational. Hope to see them on the market soon …

    Thank you to Westbow for the contest opportunity — just to have been a finalist was a huge surprise and blessing!

  5. 2 years ago
    Dema Heath says

    I would like to know where to buy “A Time for Miracles” by Kathleen Brown. I have a friend and mentor who is suffering from this disease and it is horrable to watch. I would like a copy. Please let me know where I can find one. Thank you. Dema

  6. When and where can we read this- I am especially excited about the one about Alzheimers, as I walked through that with my mother as well. Even started a non profit, Grandma’s House of Hope
    (www.GrandmasHouseofHope.org) in her honor-

  7. 2 years ago
    Sherri says

    Where can I by the books

  8. 2 years ago
    Jeannette says

    When and where can we purchase these great sounding books?

  9. 2 years ago
    Rachael Roy says

    When can we buy the Grand Prize winner’s book? I would live to read it!

  10. 2 years ago
    Beatha says

    Will there be another email sent out when these books are available for purchase?
    Congrats ladies – these books all sound AMAZING! Can’t wait to read them.

  11. Congratulations, Amy, Kathleen, and Embessie! God’s blessings to you and all the other writers who entered.

    Thank you Women of Faith and Westbow for blessing authors with your contest!

  12. 2 years ago
    Donna McCauley says

    Will you ever have a christian poetry contest?

  13. 2 years ago
    Shirley Rorvik says

    Congratulations to Amy, Kathleen, and Embessie for being the top winners! Each novel sounds interesting and inspiring. I’ll be looking for them in print. God bless you all in your writing ventures.